Skip to content

What I’ve been doing…

March 12, 2011

Hi, thanks for dropping in!

On any given day you can usually find me sitting at my desk in front of my laptop pounding away at the keys writing another chapter in the Paradox series.  That would be a run of the mill kinda day for me!

Currently writing part 2 in the Paradox Series called Progeny Of Innocence.  You can read the first chapter here.  Totally psyched  about this second book in the series that will be out in November.

There is a packet of Cruskits and a water bottle, that is now at room temperature, is sitting on the desk beside me.  There is also a mass of USB cables, notepads, bills to be paid, bills to be filed a bunch of pens and a printer that is forever running out of ink.  Sound familiar?

In front of me, apart from the obvious laptop (Acer), are three cork boards featuring pin ups of my characters faces and characteristics including eye colour, hair colour, age, height, ability….etc etc.

On most days I have to remind myself to eat and drink. I Should be thinner!!!

I am sure my housemates are very thankful that I still manage (usually at some ungodly hour) to bathe, brush my hair and clean my teeth. I don’t know about you. But I am usually mortified when visitors just pop around uninvited, only to find me sitting at my desk – punching away at the keys – and still in my PJ’s. I don’t even want to broach the hair situation!  Did I remember to put last nights dishes away???

Now, they say to be a good writer, you must read, read, read.  Then read some more…   It’s kind of like what they say about real estate.  Location, location, location.

Thankfully, due to the invention of the electronic reader (I have a kindle and love it) I get to read more these days. Correction. I have my kindle read to me!  The only thing is, I have so many great books on my kindle, that it is so hard to know where to start.  So many choices.

My other favorite buys this year, apart from the Kindle (I’m in a relationship with my kindle) was my “mini me” HP laptop.  It is so compact that I can just plonk it anywhere and just start typing.  Great for out on the patio and in front of  the TV.

The other thing I can’t do without is my HTC desire smart phone.  Love it.  Can answer my emails anywhere!

Currently I am reading The Game Of Thrones – Saw the TV Series and LOVED it.

I would love to hear from any other indie writers out there that are new to the writing and publishing world, as I am. Especially those who have, or are intending to publish their books on Smashwords and Amazon.

I have just published the paperback version of Paradox – The Angels Are Here on Creatspace.  Very happy about that.  It sells for US$8.50 on creatspace and Amazon.  AND if you buy the printed version, if you email me your receipt, I will forward you the eBook for free.

For all your book lovers living in Victoria you can go into the store – Thesaurus Bookstore in Melbourne and buy a copy.

I have also made some wonderful friends through Goodreads and highly recommend the site for all writers/authors.  If you are not already a member – drop everything and go join up now!

About you:

What keeps you going day after day to get that next draft completed?
What inspires you?
How do your characters come to you?
Let me know what makes your day!  For me it’s writing another chapter that just rocks or getting a great review.
Do you bathe?  Just kidding, I’m sure you do….

On the subject of blogs:

They say you should blog regularly with a bunch of interesting information that people want to read. But honestly, who has time for that!  I guess you could say, “then don’t have a blog.”

But really!… Is that really an option for any self-respecting indie writer promoting and marketing their own work. I don’t think so.

If you would like to promote your new book, please feel free to do so on my Book blog.

Lots of interesting things happening over there!  Just contact me through the contact tab at the top of the blog and I will be in touch ASAP.

Thank you to all those souls that have read my book – you truly make my day!  Patti

A little more about me…

Born in Brisbane Qld Australia. Grew up in Darwin in the NT. Now living in Cairns Qld.

Currently writing the Paradox Series.

Email: pattiroberts7@gmail.com

Facebook: 535092981

Twitter: http://twitter.com/PattiRoberts7

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2011 9:50 pm

    A couple more links about indie authors:

    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2011/03/15/self-publising_n_835637.html

    http://therumpus.net/2010/02/presto-book-o-why-i-went-ahead-and-self-published/

    I’m sure there are tons more, in fact I know there are. So add yours.

  2. March 15, 2011 4:51 am

    Hi Patti–I think it helps to be part crazy,and part smart. My ideas for characters comes from looking around me at the time! I see a pack of, say, Marlboro cigarette’s.I think of the Marlboro Man! I think of Marlboro Man,I think of cowboy. I think of cowboy.He’s gotta have a cowboy name.Let’s call him,Doc Dollarhide,that sounds masculine!What did I tell you about the crazy part!!!Now the smart part.Let’s give him some personality.He’s 30,because cowboys don’t live long,with all the gunfights and such.He’s rough looking,well,because he’s a cowboy,and he lives outside most of the year. For me Patti,writing is easy.It’s the technical part that’s hard.This computer is my worst enemy.But I find the technology fascinating for not growing up with it! Hell,I live in Nebraska.If I want to research cowboys,all I have to do is drive outside the city limits!”Yeehaw!” Your absolutely right about writers being kindred spirits.And so is our therapist’s. What do you call a room full of writer’s? An asylum ! Your friend Terry

  3. March 13, 2011 2:05 am

    I think there is an invisible cord that connects writers somehow like kindred spirits. I think it has a lot to do with the imaginary characters that live in our heads. Rent free.

    They even have the nerve to wake us in the dead of the night. While we take a shower, entertain our friends. Suddenly, you know that you must have that vague look on your face because your friend has stopped talking and is staring at you. You pray that she doesn’t ask you what she was just talking about. Because you know that you haven’t a clue. Focus, focus, focus.

    With other writers, you are safe. They know, and expect you to slip in and out of reality regularly. Fall off the planet for days on end. Well, I hope they do!

    Like I said…. Remembering to eat and drink can be a mission in its self.

    I think that if you want your characters to come alive on the page, then they must at first become alive in your head. And alive means that they need and demand your undivided attention from time to time.

    I constantly put myself in my character’s shoes. As an eight year old, a hormonal teenager or a drunk laying in the gutter. It doesn’t matter. I feel I must try and be them, live in that moment, their moment if I am to do them justice in the written word….

    Phew, right now, I feel I must do myself some justice, have a drink of water, and go to bed. It is 2am here and It has been a very long week! And I have lunch with a friend on Tuesday. Wish me luck.

  4. March 13, 2011 12:11 am

    Hi Patti – Another 18-hour-a-day writer doing it because it’s so much fun. Not just the writing, but the contact with readers and other writers. You ask what makes my day: that’s it. Thanks to the web, we have such immediate and deep contact with others. With writers, I’ve found that we talk at a level that’s just not possible with the neighbour across the garden fence. And I love it when readers let you know exactly what they think about your characters’ behavior – in a way, they become part of the story too.

    You might be interested in a group I’ve just joined, the Independent Author Network. Authors supporting each other’s marketing efforts, and your own home-page with a bio and links to your writing, your blog, your social media. My page is at http://j.mp/hqjBzk

    And like you, I’m using Read an Ebook Week to offer free copies of my writing via Smashwords. Till tomorrow March 12, my novel ‘The Lebanese Troubles’ (a tragi-comedy about shattered personal relationships in the midst of a civil war) is at http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/11852 . Then there’s a short eco-satire, ‘Waiting for Orders’ at http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/11008

Leave a Reply

